Oh, wait, this is a Micheal Bay film, what was I thinking? I'd like to go on a rant about how disappointed I was with Transformers 3, but I'm so used to Michael Bay movies that I went into the movie ready to enjoy how terrible it would inevitably be.
First of all, the tone of the movie was disjointed. Coming of age comedy movie? Action adventure movie? R-rated murderous robot movie? Budding romance during Armageddon movie? Movies can have multiple themes, but they must be handled deftly to work. Bay is anything but deft.
Secondly, the physics of the movie were all screwed up. With fantasy and sci-fi movies, in order to aid the audience's suspension of disbelief, the movie must be grounded in reality on all points that are not fantasy or sci-fi. For instance, and this is sad, but we all have images in our head of what happens when a skyscraper is toppled. Until 9/11, we never knew exactly, but now we do. So the protagonists survive a building that should have disintegrated. But even if the building fell as it did and didn't fall apart, the heroes inside survived a fall that was like 40 stories high. It's doesn't matter if you are in the same room at the bottom of the fall. You're squished.
Honestly, as the movie went along in the first half and the plot was building, I was kind of getting into it. Then when the action hit, the movie got stupid. By 3/4 of the way I was continuously exclaiming, "Oh, come on!!!!!!!!" Luckily for me, my wife agreed with me, and thusly my life was spared (she didn't kill me for talking during the movie).
Michael Bay, why do I continue to watch your movies? Oh, yeah, it makes for a good rant. See you next time when it's free.
No comments:
Post a Comment